matesdanax.blogg.se

Resetting cisco switch
Resetting cisco switch




resetting cisco switch

Now I define a VLAN whose parent is OPT1.

resetting cisco switch

I then assign DHCP assume need an IP address for the switch. One of the things that I cannot understand is the relationship with the pfSense interface and the switch. What usually happens is that I factory reset the switch. I cannot ping the default IP address nor the one that is supposed be handed out by pfSense. I added VLAN 10 (screenshot below is the default, not what I did) with the static IP address that I defined in pfSense, but after I do that, I lose my management connection (pc with a connection directly to port 6 on the switch). Just to show the terminology used by the switch. This is a screenshot of one of my “experiments”. Below are screenshots of the default settings that work (VLAN 1). I cannot count the number of times I needed to do a factory reset on the switch.Īnyway, I think the issue is with the port definition on the switch.

resetting cisco switch

What’s worst is that I lose my management interface to the switch. What happens it that the switch loses its default IP address but pfSense is not handing out the static IP address that I defined for the switch.

  • I plug in port 1 to IX0 reboot the switch and all should be well except this is not the case.
  • VLAN 10 in pfSense would have DHCP and I would assign a static IP address for the switch.
  • I need to define VLAN 10 in pfSense with parent OPT1 (I also tried no allocating OPT1 and just using it as a parent, but no luck).
  • I need to make port 1 a trunk on the switch.
  • If I want to connect port 1 from the switch to IX0 using VLAN 10. The Cisco switch has different terminology that most of the examples regarding setting up a VLAN I’ve encountered on the web. I assume that this is the port that I’ll be connecting back to OPT1 (IX0) on the SG5100. I want to change it so the switch assigns VLAN 10 to OPT1 so I defined VLAN 10 on the switch and this is where I’m stuck. The switch uses the new IP address, but I noticed that the switch assigns VLAN 1 to the connection. I set up DHCP on OPT1 and connected it to the Cisco switch. I defined the OPT1 (IX0) interface but this is where I'm having a problem understanding the concept. I have enabled DHCP and defined the following firewall rules for LAN. I defined the LAN interface and I have that port connected directly to my laptop. I basically got the SG5100 plugged in and connected directly to my laptop. On the SG5100, I have not enabled the WAN interface at this time since I’m still using to my consumer router. I've read lots of articles and watched lots of videos and I thought I would be okay but unfortunately, I’m not making any progress.

    #Resetting cisco switch series#

    I've been trying to set up a new SG5100 with a Cisco 250 series switch.






    Resetting cisco switch